Bayer expands their carbon program for 2024

by | Apr 10, 2024 | 5 Ag Stories, News

Earlier this year, Bayer announced it would be enhancing and expanding its Bayer Carbon Program to include more crops and states. It all starts with expanded enrollment eligibility to allow for more revenue streams on more farms.

Tyler Wiliams is an agronomist in the carbon program with Bayer and we talked with him about what we are going to see in this expanded opportunity.

Wiliams adds that while the revenue for farmers is an important component, the most important aspect of the Bayer Carbon Program is to do better for the planet and the future of American agriculture.

Wiliams says that farmers need to get that support for the first years of any carbon smart practice, and the education that will help them stick with it. Because it does take time to see the results. Change will not happen overnight.

There is still hesitation among many farmers about signing up for these kinds of programs. Wiliams says that there is a noticeable push to make changes to how we grow our crops. He encourages farmers who are on the fence to not ignore these programs. He encourages them to do some research and see if there are programs that work for them.

Some of the details for the new program are as follows.

Eligible Practices: Program accepts no-till/strip-till and/or cover crop practices rewarded at $6 per acre, per practice. Plus, the addition of a new Nitrogen Management Program, rewarded at $4 per acre.

  • Expanded Cash Crops: In addition to corn, soybeans, and wheat, the following crops will now be eligible: barley, sorghum, oats, rye, millet, dry beans, lentils, chickpeas, and peas.
  • Early Adoption and Historical Payment: New this year, fields with practice change on or after August 1, 2019, may be eligible to participate, with the potential to receive up to four years of historical practices payment.
  • Renewal Potential: Adjusting program performance period to five years, with the potential to be renewed for up to three additional five-year periods. As always, practices must continue to be performed during the 10-year retention period.
  • Renewal Bonus: Potential to receive a one-time renewal bonus of $6 per acre, per practice, if the program performance period is renewed for an additional five-year renewal period.

Eligible states are Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and Wisconsin.

You can learn more about the program, on the Bayer website.